CD and DigiPack moodboard and Ideas

I don’t really fancy using a studio with a professional white or black background, like the one the college has,  for the digi-pack album image I have the idea of using a natural background or maybe a town background something subtle but not too overwhelming.

I said I wasn’t a fan of the black background as I thought it would look rather out of place or it would look empty and white feels right out of the question for me. However I did some research and found that black could be a good background for my genre if used along with colourful or washed out props, the album that inspired this idea was Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme by Simon & Garfunkel.1200x630bbThe black background is good because it gives a great feel and use of the chiaroscuro lighting  on one side and the high-key lighting up one side of their faces and the flowers.   The dark background and the space given makes the text stand out which is always a big thing to consider in creating an album, it eliminates the need to use a border or thick font to show off the name.  This album cover is done simply with a black background and the use of a couple props along with the band, simple but works well.
The album cover idea I’m looking for will be probably outside amongst the trees and towns, it will be reminiscent of the Simon & Garfunkel Album Sounds of Silence.117033245.jpg

Easily shows what looks like a cold November morning and wrapped up warm, really links to the song I am doing my project on, Homeward Bound, I want the protagonist of my music video to resemble the two of them in the picture here especially since the song I’m using is on this album so it is more or less the exact look I’m going for.  A recreation or a redo of this with album with new or other ideas may be a good idea to use for the Digi-pack.

 

1200x630bb

This Mumford and Sons album cover is great, it really gives that feeling of small village that I go on about so much.  It shows a shop to the side reminding me of little private businesses you find in villages like cake or botanist shops.  After some more research the shop they’re in is actually a privately owned business of a furniture shop called Pimpernel & Partners which makes it even better.

Leave a comment